The Terroir of Sermiers

The Terroir of Sermiers

The vineyards

This unique terroir is an integral part of Champagne country, which enjoys a unique combination of a highly specific climate and exceptional subsoil.

The far northerly position of the estate means that it can be put to the test by harsh climate conditions – the continental element of the Champagne climate gives cold winters and its oceanic element means that we can have wet weather throughout the year. Frosts can be treacherous for the vines. However, despite these frosts, the seasons are not strongly remarkable and the temperature variations are reasonable.

Our subsoil is the result of a long geological process which started 100 million years ago when sediment formed on the bed of the sea which covered the Champagne country at the time. In time, the Parisian depression collapsed, pushing the sediments up to the surface where they lie today.

This sediment, rich in limestone, is a valuable asset for the vines which draw from this natural irrigation all year long.

At Sermiers, our soil consists mainly of marl, clay and siliceous sandstone. This differs from other parts of the area and give it its typicality.

It is thanks to this clay and siliceous sandstone that our Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier varieties express all their taste and aromas. Our vineyards consist of 70% Pinot Meunier, 15% Pinot Noir and 15% Chardonnay.

Terms of sale

Politique de confidentialité et des cookies

Informations sur les cookies

Alcohol abuse is a health hazard – use responsibly

© 2012 Champagne Lacuisse Frères | Legal Information | Design and creation: IRIS Interactive

Le Terroir de Sermiers

Le Terroir de Sermiers

Le vignoble

Ce terroir unique fait partie intégrante du terroir de la Champagne, combinaison unique d’un climat bien particulier et d’un sous-sol exceptionnel.

Ce terroir est le résultat d’une position septentrionale extrême qui le soumet à des conditions climatiques rudes, à la fois froid l’hiver par sa composante continentale et humide tout au long de l’année par sa composante océanique. Ainsi, les gelées peuvent y être redoutables pour les pieds de vigne. Malgré ces gelées, les saisons sont peu marquées avec de faibles amplitudes de températures.

Son sous-sol est lui issu d’un processus millénaire, commencé il y a 100 millions d’années par le dépôt de sédiments marins au fond de la mer qui recouvrait alors la Champagne. Poussé en surface par l’effondrement du bassin parisien, il y a 70 millions d’années, ces couches de sédiments se trouvent aujourd’hui en surface.

Ces sédiments, riches en calcaire sont un atout pour la vigne qui peut y puiser une irrigation naturelle tout au long de l’année.

A Sermiers, notre sous-sol est composé principalement de marnes, d’argile et de sables siliceux qui le distinguent d’autres parties du vignoble et font sa typicité.

C’est dans ces argiles et ces sables siliceux que nos cépages « Pinot Noir » et « Pinot Meunier » expriment toute leurs saveurs et leurs arômes. Notre vignoble est ainsi composé à 70% de Pinot Meunier, 15% de Pinot Noir et 15% de Chardonnay.    

Conditions générales de vente

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération

© 2012 Champagne Lacuisse Frères | Informations légales | Conception, réalisation : IRIS Interactive